Encouraging Work on the Great Depression

A fresh history by a increasingly important historian Amity Shlaes.

Calvin Coolidge said, “The wise and correct course to follow in taxation and all other economic legislation is not to destroy those who have already secured success but to create conditions under which every one will have a better chance to be successful.” (from The Forgotten Man, page 37)

I am currently reading The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression by Amity Shlaes.  I bought the book when I was in Alaska back in 2008 and am long overdue in reading it.  But I cannot get Amity Shlaes new book on Coolidge until I get this earlier book read. 

8 thoughts on “Encouraging Work on the Great Depression

  1. I have to confess that you’re a better man than I am: I bought the new Coolidge biography despite still not having finished “The Forgotten Man.” No excuses; no will power.

  2. i’m unafraid to be seen as illiterate. (Did I spell that right?) I’ve never heard of Shlaes, and I deal in books…after a fashion. I just added this comment to say, next time you go back to AK, take me with you – I miss it.

  3. Amity Shlaes is a relatively young historian and The Forgotten Man was her first book. I think it came out in 2008. Going to the bookstore in Alaska was one of the highlights. For one thing, it was not below freezing inside the bookstore.

  4. Pingback: The Oxford History of the United States | The Heavy Laden Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

