Books for Bucks

No, not these kinds of bucks.

I have discovered yet another use for books.  When you sell one, you can use the money to pay a bill.  With tuition, food, electricity, 2 kids at home, one in college, and the constant needs of home and car repairs, extra money would be nice.

Never fear, I collect, keep, and hoard books.  But occasionally, I get extra copies of books or I receive books or I stumble upon really cheap books, and I end up with duplicates.  And, there are a few titles that I don’t feel compelled to keep.

If you are interested in any of these books, contact me via email at Veritas@Cableone.net.   Shipping costs will be based on what it actually cost me to ship.  If you live in the area, you can come by Veritas Academy and pick the books up.

All prices are negotiable,  well, maybe.

Books for Sale

 

  1.  SOLD!  Arndt, William F. & F. Wilbur Gingrich. A Greek English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. 

2.  Battles, Ford Lewis. The Piety of John Calvin. Part of the P & R Publishing Calvin500 series.  Paperback.  Rectangle shape—8 ½ by 10 inches.  Like new.  List price:  $19.99.  My price:  $6.00.

3.  Bridges, Jerry. Transforming Grace: Living Confidently in God’s Unfailing Love. Hardback.  Very good.  Dustjacket somewhat faded.  My price $5.

4.  Carr, Simonetta. John Calvin. Reformation Heritage Books.  This is a children’s book. Ages 7-10.  New; in plastic wrap.  Hard cover.  List price:  $15.45.  My price:  $6.

5.  Greer, Peter and Chris Horst.  Mission Drift: The Unspoken Crisis Facing Leaders, Charities, and Churches.  Bethany House.  Hardcover. New.  Great book.  I was very impressed with it. List price $19.99.  I received 2 review copies of this book.  Will sell one for postage plus a buck.

6.  Harris, Joshua. Stop Dating the Church: Fall in Love with the Family of God. Multanomah.  Hardback.  Very good except for some underlining.  List $12.99.  My price $2.    [I enjoyed this book.]

7.  House, Ben. Punic Wars and Culture Wars: Christian Essays on History and Teaching. Covenant Media Foundation.  Brand new copies.  Will autograph and inscribe upon request.  List price:  $25.  My price: $10.    Bulk discounts available.

8.  Keller, Timothy. Walking with God through Pain and Suffering. Dutton.  Brand new.  List $26.96.     Price:  $12.00.

9.  Lawson, Stephen J. The Expository Genius of John Calvin. Reformation Trust Publishing.  New; in plastic wrap.  Hard cover.  List price:  $15.  My price:  $6.

10. SOLD!  Lawson, Stephen J. The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards. 

11.  Lewis, C. S. Mere Christianity. Zondervan.  Paperback.  Crease across front cover. Otherwise, very good.   My price $2.

12.  Lewis, C. S. Mere Christianity.  Walker and Company.  Paperback.  Good.  LARGE PRINT EDITION.  List price: $13.95.  My price $2.

13.  MacArthur, John. Slave. Hardback.  New.  Great book on the doctrines of grace.  2 copies available.  My price $5.

14.  Moore, T. M. Consider the Lilies: A Plea for Creational Theology.  P & R Publishing.  Paperback. New.  List price $16.99.  My price:  $2.

15.  Parker, Hudson. The President: A Novel. Multnomah.  Hardback with dustjacket in Mylar.  Ex-library.  Very good condition.  What if a liberal President was converted while in office?  That is the story of this riveting novel.  My price:  $4.

16.  Reisinger, Ernest. Today’s Evangelism: Its Message and Methods.  Craig Press.  New. $10.99.  My price: $2.

17.  Robertson, O. Palmer.  The Christ of the Covenants.  P & R Publishing.  Paperback. New.  List $14.99.  My price $7.

18. SOLD!  Swanson, Mary-Elaine. John Locke: Philosopher of American Liberty. 

19.  Wilson, Douglas. Father Hunger. Thomas Nelson.  Like new.  List price:  $15.99.  My price:  $3.

20. Buckley, William F. The Reagan I Knew. Basic Books.  Hardback.  Like new, except for a badly bumped spine.  List price $25.  My price $4.

21. SOLD!  Gibbon, Edward. The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. 

22.  Graham, L. B. Binding of the Blade series, volumes 1-3.  Shadows in the Deep, Bringer of Storms, & Beyond the Summerland.  Paperback.  New.  $16.99 per volume.  Price for the set:  $12.

23.  Hicks, Robert.  A Separate Country.  Hardcover.  Good.  List price $25,99.  My price $4.  [Realistic Civil War fiction by a Tennessee author.  I read and enjoyed the previous volume titled Widow of the South.]

24.  Kingsley, Florence Morse.  Stephen–Soldier of the Cross.  Grosset and Dunlap, 1896.  Hardcover.  Good condition for a really old book.   Former church library book. Price on ABE Books  $12.50 plus postage.  My price $2.

25.  Motley, J. L. The Rise of the Dutch Republic.  Volumes 1 and 3 of a 3 volume set.  1913 J. M. Dent edition.  Volume 2 is available via ABE Books.  Volume 1 in good shape.  The spine on volume 3 is broken at the bottom.  Good condition for old books.  Price:  $4.

26.  SOLD!  Hall, Leonard. Stars Upstream: Life Along an Ozark River. 

27.  Parkman, Francis.  Parkman’s Works.  Little, Brown, and Company.  1896.  6 Beautiful old volumes of Parkman’s works.  Not a complete set.  $26.

(Anyone interested in the 17 volume Frontenac edition of Parkman’s Works,  I would be willing to sell to for $150.  Great old set of books.

Item image

 

28.  Williams III, Edward F. Great American Civil War Trivia. Small paperback.  Premium Press.  Like new.  List $6.95.  My price:  $1.

No way would I allow books to be piled up like this.

29.  Hardback volumes of John Grisham novels (in good condition with dust jackets).    $3 EACH OR 2 FOR $5.00.
The Innocent Man (2 copies)
The Summons
The Client (1 copy remaining)
The Brethren
 30.  The Last Photograph: A Story of Brothers by Stephen Bransford.  An autobiographical account of 2 brothers who went their different ways, but still loved each other.  Bransford is a Christian.  This is an enjoyable read.  Like new hardback with dustjacket.  $2.
31.  The Forgotten Man: A New History of the Great Depression by Amity Shlaes.  Very good.  Hardback with dust jacket.  Shlaes is one of the best conservative economic historians of our time. This book shows the limitations and failures of the New Deal.  Outstanding read.  $5.00.  Pay Ben.
32.  Winston’s War:  Churchill 1940-1945 by Max Hastings.  Having read many books on Winston Churchill, I was astounded by this incredible book.  After reading this book and one other by Hastings, I resolved to buy and read everything he has written.
This is a hardback book with a jacket, but it is in fair condition.  Actually, the bulk of the book is in good condition, but there is a page torn out somewhere in the middle.  (That is why I replaced my copy.)  Postage!
33.  A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson.  Paperback in good condition with some underlining and notes.  I read a copy of this book a year or so ago and loved it.  Peterson is sometime quirky, but often really convicting and enjoyable.  This book is a study of the Psalms of Ascent. $1.

34.  The Annals of America.  20 volumes, I think.  Great collection of documents, speeches, and primary sources in hardbound volumes.  $55.

35.  Pictorial Bible Dictionary, edited by Merrill C. Tenney.  Hardbound volume.  Good condition.  $2 plus postage.

36.  The Story of Arkansas by Hazel Presson.  Old copy is in reasonably good shape.  $8.
37.  The Governors of Arkansas:  Essays in Political Biography by Timothy Paul Donovan.  Paperback.  Like new $10.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Books for Bucks

  1. Thanks, Ben. Always in the market for your bargains. The ones I want are:

    10. Lawson, Stephen J. The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards. Reformation Trust Publishing. New; in plastic wrap. Hard cover. List price: $15. My price: $6. [Both Lawson books are good reads and reminders of the lives of the subjects.] both at $12

    18. Swanson, Mary-Elaine. John Locke: Philosopher of American Liberty. Nordskog Publishing. Brand new. List price $19.95. I received 2 review copies of this book. My price is postage, plus a buck

    21. Gibbon, Edward. The Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. 7 volumes. Hardcover. AMS Publisher. Attractive older set of books. (A 1974 reprint.) Used sets start at $50. So does this one. My price: $50.00.

    26. Hall, Leonard. Stars Upstream: Life Along an Ozark River. University of Missouri Press. Paperback. Good condition. Gently read. List price: $30 (believe it or not). My price: $2.

    I may also be interested in the John Grishom books on your other list sent to prayer breakfast men. I’m waiting to hear back from our daughter, Jennie to see if she wants them, but I’ll take the ones listed above.

    Erik.

Leave a Reply

